Tags

, , , ,


Illustrations taken from The Long Rolla novel by Mary Johnston

The Lovers

The Lovers

The Battle

The Battle

The Vedette

The Vedette

***

Illustrations taken from The Militants, short stories by Mary R. S. Andrews

I Took Her In My Arms And Held Her

I Took Her In My Arms And Held Her

I Got Behind A Turn And Fired As A Man Came On Alone

I Got Behind A Turn And Fired As A Man Came On Alone

***

Illustrations taken from Cimarron, novel by Edna Ferber

Cimarron
Cimarron 2

 Yancey's Ardent Eyes

Yancey’s Ardent Eyes

***

Illustrations taken from The Oregon Trail, written by Francis Parkman

01

An Indian War Party

An Indian War Party

03

Trappers

Trappers

Buffalo Hunt

Buffalo Hunt

***

Illustrations taken from Jinglebob, written by Philip Ashton Rollins

01

The Stagecoach

The Stagecoach

Coiled Rope

Coiled Rope

Night Herding

Night Herding

***

Illustrations taken from An Autobiography Of Buffalo Billby William Cody

03_buffalobill_wyeth_1916

He Shoved A Pistol In The Man's Face

He Shoved A Pistol In The Man’s Face

Chief Satanta Passed The Peace-Pipe To General Sherman

Chief Satanta Passed The Peace-Pipe To General Sherman

Winning My Name: Buffalo Bill

Winning My Name: Buffalo Bill

***

Illustrations taken from Whispering Smithnovel by Frank H. Spearman

01

And Whom May I Say The Message Is From?

And Whom May I Say The Message Is From?

These three carried rifles slung across their pommels

These three carried rifles slung across their pommels, and in front of them rode the stranger

Wheeling at arm's length, shot again

Wheeling at arm’s length, shot again

***

Illustrations taken from Nan Of Music Mountainnovel by Frank H. Spearman

De Spain covered a hardly perceptible black object on the trail

De Spain covered a hardly perceptible black object on the trail

Hugging his shield, de Spain threw his second shot over Sandusky’s left shoulder

Hugging his shield, de Spain threw his second shot over Sandusky’s left shoulder

“Stand away from that girl!” repeated de Spain harshly, backing the words with a step forward

“Stand away from that girl!” repeated De Spain harshly, backing the words with a step forward

“I’ve promised you I would. I will promise every time you ask me.

“I’ve promised you I would. I will promise every time you ask me.”

***

Illustrations taken from Ramonanovel by Helen Hunt Jackson

01

02
03
04***

Illustration taken from A Candle In The Wilderness, written by Irving Bacheller

A Candle In The Wilderness***

(5 – to be continued)

(more paintings)

